The Notice of Race for ANZ Sail Fiji is now available for all those interested in racing in the 1,100 nautical mile Category 1 event from Auckland to Denarau.

Hosted by Royal Akarana Yacht Club in conjunction with Port Denarau Marina, the Fiji race is a traditional event for the home of blue water sailing.

In 2014 the event saw 20 racing boats and two cruisers on the start line at Orakei.  Beau Geste Racing (Karl Kwok) secured line honours and first on PHRF, Giacomo (Jim Delegat) won IRC and Blizzard (John Miller) took out the general handicap division. In the other categories, Royal Akarana Yacht Club (Giacomo, Bullrush and Akatea) won the Interclub Challenge, Django (AJ Reid) won the European Cup and Blizzard (John Miller) won the Classic Kiwi Cup.

The race is always a challenge with many obstacles thrown at the fleet, but that’s what makes it exciting.  RAYC is hoping to reach 25 entries for the 2016 race.

ANZ has once again come on board as the naming sponsor for the race, with Burnard International and Quick Dry Foam also putting their weight behind the event.