Image Above – The start of the first Auckland to Suva Race. From left, Ranginui, Wanderer, Kismet and Daydream.


In exactly one year today, the ANZ Sail Fiji race organized by Royal Akarana Yacht Club will start from the Orakei Wharf on Auckland’s Waitemata Harbour.

Scheduled for Saturday 7th June 2014, ANZ Sail Fiji will be the 22nd race to the Fijian islands for the club that is considered the home of blue water sailing.

Established in 1895, Royal Akarana Yacht Club first ventured to Fiji in 1956 with 13 boats making the journey.  Since then there has been many ups and down with ocean racing, however RAYC has maintained its heritage and continues to race.

With the introduction of the first trans-Tasman race in 1931, the club became the founder of blue water offshore racing in New Zealand and no other club has done more to foster this type of racing.

In 1951 the club added the White Island Offshore race to its program to encourage its sailors to venture further beyond the Hauraki Gulf without having to leave New Zealand waters.

The club was now home to many deep water yachtsman who were keen to experience new adventures and challenges and to meet this need the committee decided that a race north to the Pacific Islands would fit the bill.

Thus was born the Auckland to Suva race, now regarded as one of the world’s classic yacht races.   It was seen as a way to get yachts up to the Pacific Islands for several months of tropical cruising during the winter months in New Zealand.   It was held for the first time in 1956 with 13 entries and it was popular from the start – so much so that in 1973 there were 70 yachts and in 1977 a record number of 117 entries were received.  This latter number was too great to be accommodated at the Royal Suva Yacht Club so half the fleet was sent to Lautoka.


Jive Talkin at the start of the 2005 race

In 1997, the race to Fiji was sent to the western side of Viti Levu for the first time. The yachts finished just inside the Momi Passage and they then were accommodated in a partially developed new marina at the Denerau Resort.  The race has finished at Denerau a further four times and in 2006 the host location was the Vuda Point marina at First Landing.

The year 2000 race was riddled with controversy – It was abandoned at the request of the RT Honourable Helen Clark, Prime Minister of New Zealand, due to the first Fijian Military Coup led by Colonel Sitaveni Ramuka.  The majority of the fleet returned to New Zealand, whilst some altered course and headed to Noumea.  A handful of boats continued to Fiji under their own authority.

The 2014 race will finish  in the Momi Passage at the Navula Light with the fleet to be hosted at Denerau Marina.  Expressions of Interest are coming through already with the Notice of Race and Official Entry due out in August 2013.

Different divisions have been created to encourage boats to join the fleet.  General overall results will include PHRF, IRC, Mono Line and Multihull Line and a general monohull handicap as well as divisions for the European Cup, Classic Kiwis and Cruising.

Expressions of Interest to date

1.  NZL Carrera Marten 49 John Meadowcroft
2.  NZL Bullrush Elliott 12 Anthony Robinson
3.  NZL Django J/111 Andrew Reid
4.  NZL Kia Kaha TP52 Chris & Manuela Hornell
5.  NZL Steinlager 2 Maxi Ketch William Goodfellow
6.  NZL Lion New Zealand Holland Maxi TBC
7.  NZL Blizzard Farr 44 John Miller
8.  NZL Lawless XP44 Laurie Needham
9.  NZL Surreal Beneteau first 47.7 Tim Holgate
10.  NZL Moody Blue IV Beale Hamish Milne
11.  AUS Lahana Maxi 100 Peter Millard
12.  NZL Rainbow V Farr 1220 Mark Clough
13.  NZL Celadon Elliott Tourerr 1650 Richard Macalister
14.  FRA Laissez Faire Beneteau 58′ Mack Storey
15.  NZL Starlight Express Davidson 55 Mike Wilson
16.  NZL Bodacious Davidson Simon Meikle & John Toon
17.  NZL The Taniwha Warwick 30 Lewis Callaghan

ANZ Sail Fiji isn’t just for the racers and cruisers.  Families are encouraged to make the short trip across to meet their partners after the race and perhaps stay on for a fantastic holiday at one of Fiji’s amazing resorts.

Exclusive deals and offers will be available for the ANZ Sail Fiji fleet – details regarding this will be available in the coming months.

For more information visit

Follow the race via the website as well as Facebook ( and Twitter (